I’LL HAVE A BLOODY MARY, A STEAK SANDWICH AAAND A STEAK SANDWICH

Easier than writing lots of individual emails

DEATH IS THE MOST TRUTHFUL PART OF LIFE

last year, my friend Scott accused me of enjoying funerals.
🙂
some friends know you all too well, eh?

Well, I just attended another memorial service yesterday (in colorado).  It was for the father of one of my friends (and my friend is on our worship team too).
Scott’s right, i really do like funerals…
I suppose, after many many funerals under my belt, I’ve finally figured out why I like them.  I think, regardless of who died and how they lived, that death is the most truthful part of life.  If you know me, you know that I prefer truth and authenticity far more than I enjoy relativism and surface.  Soooo, perhaps, death bodes well with me because it’s the absolute known in life.
Yes, my biblical beliefs undergird my lack of fear about ‘after death’, but even before i was a follower of Christ, death was not alarming to me.  Rather is was somewhat reassuring.
So, now, after my 27th funeral/memorial service, I am once again digesting all that i saw, all that I heard, all that I ached for, all that I smiled at, all that i participated in, all the people I met, all that I wondered, all that I hoped for, all that i prayed for, all that I was challenged by, all that i cried for, all that God taught or is in the process of teaching… ultimately, experiencing the process of death is good for me.  it’s good for my soul.

I have more thoughts.  I have more musings.  But, it’s late and I think I just want to get into bed and as i lay there I just want to continue reflecting on JT’s life: the life he led, the life he modeled, the legacy left behind, how best to empathize with and serve his grieving son, my friend.  I also want to continue to just sit before the LORD and try to hear that still small voice.
While death is truthful, sometimes it’s hard to know what to do with the truth… and listening to God, trusting God, mourning with God…it leads to feeling/knowing His love.
Oh, truth in love.
Hmmmmm.
I’m sure there’s a gospel application in there…but keystroke-less pondering beckons and then sleep.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment