I’LL HAVE A BLOODY MARY, A STEAK SANDWICH AAAND A STEAK SANDWICH

Easier than writing lots of individual emails

THE UNSUNG HEROES OF THE PAC

Well, as some of you know, last night Holly and I attended the PAC Usher Appreciation Potluck Banquet (PACUAPB).  Priceless.

Imagine approximately 200 men, but mostly women over the age of 60, enjoying tables and tables of potluck foods, listening to speakers wax eloquent regarding the invaluable service of the volunteer ushers and how they have helped shape the community, listening and waiting for their raffle # to be called….and so much more!

I took notes.  Here are some of the many highlights, and I quote…
From Dr. Moose, some high up guy in the COC world
-“You are the Unsung Heroes and Saints of the community”
-“Never have I seen people serve the patrons of the arts as well as you do”
-“Volunteers are not paid because they’re worthless, they’re not paid because they’re priceless”
-“I mean this from the bottom of my heart.  I have been to so many events this year and you are the tireless, cheerful, remarkable, ambassadors of College of the Canyons.  I am in your debt and thank you all”

From Boss Lady whilst giving awards
-“These awards are like the Academy Awards.  There were some very hard decisions to make”
-“This volunteer should be an inspiration to all future volunteers”
-“This award is for outstanding merit.  This volunteer has demonstrated oustanding leadership skills, is a role model, always shows willingness to go the extra mile, is reliable, considerate, is promt, works without complaining, is well liked and respected by peers.”

They take this stuff pretty seriously. 
All joking aside though, it was convicting.  The character qualities that were noticed and then rewarded are the qualities that Holly and I should always be, as Christians volunteering at the PAC.  It amazed me that, even though it’s ‘just volunteering’ that all our fellow ushers still treat it like a real job because they care.  As a Christian, in all things, whether I eat or drink, I should be doing all to the Glory of God.  Volunteer ushering, selling houses, singing on Worship Team, watching TV, sitting in traffic, reading my Bible, looking out the window, posting on my blogs…all done to the Glory of God. 

See?  Ushering has many many benefits. 
Oh, and one last highlight…we sat at a table with 2 women named Barbara.  They were pretty funny in many ways.  Barbara #1 is a Catholic travel agent and started doing a lot of traveling after her husband died.  I asked if she had any travel companions and she said that it was hard due to everyone’s schedules etc.  She mentioned a gentlemen friend from her church that she had asked to travel with, “You know, we would have seperate beds and everything.  He said ‘I don’t think the church would look too highly on that.’ Come on.  It’s not like I’m gonna jump his bones or anything.”  Yep.  She said it.  I did not make it up.  This is also the same woman who stood up at the end and said to Holly and I, “Guess how I’m celebrating my birthday in July. (Me-‘How?’) By jumping out of a plane.  I’ll be 80 years old and I thought if George Bush Sr. could do it at 75, I could do it at 80.  Why not?’ 
Ushering…it’s sooooo worth it!

No comments yet»

Leave a comment