I’LL HAVE A BLOODY MARY, A STEAK SANDWICH AAAND A STEAK SANDWICH

Easier than writing lots of individual emails

JR HIGHERS KNOW JUST WHAT TO SAY

I taught at La Mesa Jr. High on Thursday
7th grade History.
sidenote: The material topic= Martin Luther’s role in the Reformation. (thanx, God)

THE EXCHANGE
ME-Ok, does anyone have any questions about anything AT ALL (which is code for ‘we can kill some time and get to know each other)?
Girl 1-
How old are you?
ME-
35
Girl 1
(genuine smile lights up her face as she innocently says)- That’s how old my mom is!
ME-
Great.  So I could be your mom (said as a quasi statement/question). huh.
Girl 1
-When’s your birthday?
ME-end of may, I’ll be 36 in a couple weeks
Girl 1-
My mom’s birthday is the end of May too!
ME-
Great.  So your mom and I are almost the EXACT same age.  Mmmmm. (said with a fake smile… intended to get some laughs… it worked). 
Girl 2-
Do you have any kids?
ME
-Nope.  However, apparently you could all be my children. (class laughs).

We took a class poll.  About 1/3 of the class had a mom or dad that was about 35 yrs old.

Game on

4 Comments»

  Jason B wrote @

That makes me feel old. I also feel old when College Freshman tell me they were born in 1990-1991 now!

  Mom Harvey wrote @

Hurray! You are alive and well! I was beginning to worry AND missing “views on our crazy world by Sam.”
I’ve got one for you, though. One of my students (about 10 years ago) was going to celebrate his grandmother’s birthday. I was picturing a little old lady (this, of course ,was before I had grandchildren.) Come to find out she was younger than me and only 36 years old! I thought it was wrong until I did the math (grandmother became a mother at 15, mother became a mother at 15, student in first grade was 6!) So, hey, you could sub for my class and be old enough to be their grandmother! :) Happy Mother’s Day!

  Jennene wrote @

Yeah, even when I meet parents, I’m still in denial and see them as “older” than me. Not true and getting less true each year…

  Caleb Kolstad wrote @

Funny!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

