I’LL HAVE A BLOODY MARY, A STEAK SANDWICH AAAND A STEAK SANDWICH

Easier than writing lots of individual emails

DO YOU SEE WHAT I’M DEALING WITH IN REAL ESTATE?

Sooooo, I’ve been pretty busy lately.  With lots of things, but definitley real estate.
I have long said that i should write a book (Office style) of the life and happenings of a competent agent.  I’m not sure if it would be a drama or a comedy.

I have maaaaany entries for my ever growing tome (crazy/ridiculous/unbelievable things happen everyday in this business).

Though a mild incident, the following vignette is just one tiny example of the level of professionalism that I’m dealing with on a minute by minute basis these days (and one more reason why I will not reduce my commissions…I EARN my money).  :)
*EXPLICIT MATERIAL.  If you have any young children reading this with you, you should have them leave the room at this time

THE SCENE
-trying to preview homes for a client
-calling all of the listings to verify status, make appt with occupant, determine any other relevant info
-always seeking to be professional and friendly (cuz you should as a human) because you never know who you’re going to need to be negotiating with in the long run

THE CONVERSATION
-introductions etc
-ME: (calling on a 3/2 little tract quasi single family home in a copperhill neighborhood…standard…nothing unique) I see your listing says I need to give 24hr notice.  Is it still occupied and do you still need 24hr notice
-THE OTHER AGENT (TOA): oh, that should be showing as pending
-ME: oh, huh.  maybe I didn’t refresh the page.  well, so it’s pending.  congratulations!
-TOA: thanx! But, here’s what I’d like to do (said with a lot of salesy-ness), I’d like to take your name/number because I have another listing in the same tract that will be on the market tomorrow and it is G-OR-GEOUS . . . (blah blah blah…goes on and on and on about the features…is VERY flamboyant about the upgrades/colors/etc. and then says..) Let me put it to you this way…I never have an orgasm when I walk into a house.  I had an orgasm when i walked into this house. okay? (his tone made me picture a stereotypical gay guy waving his hand in the air).  I’m serious this is the most A-MAZING house you’ll ever see.
-ME: (nonchalantly and rolling my eyes, silienlty sighing with complete disinterest) Huh.  Ok, my number is  _
-TOA: Great.  I’ll call you.

:)
Not one word of that was made up or exaggerated.
Welcome to my life.
Real estate is not for the fainthearted.
:)

6 Comments»

  Jennene wrote @

I’m thinking about Meg Ryan in “When Harry Met Sally” right now…

  Jenni, Liz, Rebecca, & Jesseca THE GETZ IT SOLD TEAM wrote @

This is great! We laughed our you-know-whats-off! We all need to get together and put together a compilation of crazy stuff we’ve seen & heard. We all have stories like this. Agents would pay big bucks for a book of funny stuff like this! We need a good laugh once and a while, it’d be a nice change from rocking in the corner because another one fell out. :)

  Kasey Boles wrote @

Oh boy….

  amycoadventures wrote @

oh brother! you’re not kidding. keep those commissions, sister.

  Franchesca wrote @

amazing. how do people do it? And not crack up. I’m that person watching and staring and asking myself if what I just saw/heard really happened. And thanks for the welcome.

  Jason B wrote @

I guess T.M.I. isn’t required training for a real estate license.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

