I’LL HAVE A BLOODY MARY, A STEAK SANDWICH AAAND A STEAK SANDWICH

Easier than writing lots of individual emails

DAY 2- JUROR #6… RIP

Well, it was a good run.

Before arriving at the courthouse, I stopped by the library to drop off some books and pick up some new ones that had come in (from my special order).  With 4 minutes to spare, I stood in line, chatted it up with the librarian who asked me about New Zealand (relating to the books I checked out), got the books, said hi to the hot dog stand couple (he tried to trick me that all the other jurors had been taken in), went through security and got there in the nick of time to just stand and wait.  :)  It was 1:30pm.  Our call time.

We waited in the hallway until 1:45pm.  During the wait, Kind Kiwi (she’s smart and cool and funny) and I had a mini debrief of the jury selection process… which led to her telling me about her thoughts on my answers yesterday.   And I quote her, ‘When you answered that science question, I was thinking to myself  ‘Oh no, please don’t let this turn into an epistemological debate.’
:)
So, that led into a mini discussion on organized religion, proof vs. faith, how do we determine who is an authority in deciphering the ‘facts’, and social deconstructionism.  Not bad for a 15 minute wait.  :)

Around 1:50pm we were led into the courtroom and after lots of legal mumbo jumbo the next 3 jurors were mildly grilled.
The last one (for that round) was APL (see previous post for key).  I admit, I was chomping at the bit to know her story.  It quickly came out that she was a retired LAPD officer (of 25 years) and her field of expertise was the EXACT same as the crime the accused was on trial for.  We all started laughing with that ‘of course you were LAPD for 25 years in this EXACT field’ kind of way).  When asked if she could be impartial, she quickly and boldly said ‘no’.  The judge asked her 1 more question and dismissed her on the spot.
Amazing.

She was replaced and …within 10 minutes I was dismissed by the prosecution.

And that was that.

I went to the holding room where APL was being processed too.
We exchanged a few laughs and I told her that I’d been dying to know her line of work and she asked what my guesses had been.  We yucked it up for a bit and then talked to another juror who had been dismissed.  It was like a little private club.  It was fun.

ANYway, on my way out I bought a hot dog and drink JUST so i could hang out with the Lebanese guy and his NY wife.  We talked for a while and she and I are going to try to get together sometime soon.  While she and I were talking, he came over and in a scolding/endearing manner just said, ‘We’re here EVERY day M-F.  You need to come by and say hello at least once a week.’ :)  Oh, I will.  I will.  (it doesn’t hurt that the library is 50 ft away too).  :)

So, goodbye, Juror #6.  It was enriching to be you for a 1.5 days.
And, may I wish all the other jurors and participants of that trial a very clear and wise conclusion, as they listen and decide the accused’s immediate future.

Prescribed civil duty for the day… priceless!

2 Comments»

  joyinthejourney wrote @

Loved hearing your thoughts on your juror journey, Sam. :)

  Jennene wrote @

I especially love the little relationships you keep forming with random people — I think it is part of your spiritual gifting ha ha. I hope you keep going to the library and other public/civic places and having these great opportunities. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

