I’LL HAVE A BLOODY MARY, A STEAK SANDWICH AAAND A STEAK SANDWICH

Easier than writing lots of individual emails

EVERY KISS BEGINS WITH ‘KAY’

OK, if you know me, you’re probably familiar with my acronym habit (AH).
You say a phrase, but I see/hear it in an acronym.
Maybe i’m savant.
Maybe not.
Probably not.
I know I’m not.
ANYway…

For someone who thinks in terms of acronyms, you’d assume that initials would be pretty 2nd nature for me.
Nope.
Apparently not.

Here’s just how ridiculous I am….
So, for YEARS, i’ve heard the jingle from Kay jeweler, ‘Every kiss begins with Kay’.
Oh, that’s sweet.  he give her jewelry.  She melts.  She kisses him.  He thanks ‘Kay’.
Beyond that, never gave it a 2nd thought.

Tonight, for the first time ever, I realized that it was a double meaning: a physical kiss begins with the letter ‘K’ as well as jewelry from Kay being the catalyst for a thankful/romantic kiss.
Really?
really.
Wow.

I discovered all this whilst on J&E’s couch (all of us having sung the phrase about 2,000 times tonight).
I guess it was kind of like an Oprah ‘Ah-Ha’ moment (but not at all).
E&J were shocked that I had never seen it in the 2nd meaning.
That’s me, full of surprises.
:)

Happy Valentine’s Day.
May all your kisses begin with ‘K’ or ‘Kay’.

5 Comments»

  jessi wrote @

I always assumed it was “Every kiss begins with ¿qué?”

And that didn’t make any sense to me, but I just thought, “Stupid jewelers.”

  Lindsay Gonyea wrote @

That is hilarious- because I had the same realization about a month ago. Same thing- sang the catchy jingle, but never “got it!!”

  Gunner wrote @

I don’t know if this should make you feel better or worse, but I too have never before noticed the double meaning, at least not that I can remember. I was always focused on other social and marketing aspects of the commercials – which is simply a euphemistic way of excusing my verbal and observational dullness.

I’m glad I’m in good company.

  rachel hersh wrote @

How dumb am i? 47 and had to have my 11 yr old daughter point out to me the double meaning of a commercial that i have heard forever! Glad i am in some other’s company and not the only person who is clueless!

  dontasia wrote @

call me


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

